American Academy of Nursing Inducts Nine

The American Academy of Nursing selected 230 distinguished nurse leaders to join the 2020 Class of Academy Fellows, nine of whom come from the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing. The new fellows are invited to join the fellowship based on their significant contributions to enhancing the quality of health and nursing, reducing health disparities and inequalities, and strengthening nursing and health delivery systems.

The 2020 Class of Academy Fellows represents 39 states as well as 13 countries. Nine selected fellows currently attend or are alumni of the School of Nursing, including:

  • Brenda Baker, PhD, RNC, CNS – Emory University
  • Susan Brasher, PhD, RN, CPNP-PC, FAAN –
    Emory University
  • Carolyn Clevenger, DNP, RN, GNP-BC, AGPCNP-BC, FAANP, FGSA – Emory University
  • Erin Ferranti, PhD, MPH, RN, CDCES, FAHA, FPCNA – Emory University
  • Linda Grabbe, PhD, FNP-BC, PMHNP-BC –
    Emory University
  • Ursula Kelly, PhD, APRN, ANP-BC, PMHNP-BC, FAANP – Emory University
  • Victoria Pak, PhD, RN, MTR, MS – Emory University
  • Samuel Shartar, MSN, RN, CEN, GA-PCEM –
    Emory University
  • Weihua Zhang, PhD – Emory University

The academy is currently composed of more than 2,700 nursing leaders who are experts in policy, research, administration, practice, and academia who champion health and wellness both locally and globally. The inductees were recognized for their contributions at the academy’s annual Transforming Health, Driving Policy Conference in late October.

A significant milestone in a nurse leader’s career, induction into the academy is earned after a competitive, rigorous application process. The 2020 Class of Fellows will be honored by their colleagues within the profession for their commitment to the academy and to transforming health systems across the world.

Share This Story