Emory University | Woodruff Health Sciences Center
Bookmark and Share

Notes of distinction

Carolyn Clevenger 02MN DNP RN GNP-BC, associate clinical professor, was elected a fellow of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners. Clevenger serves as assistant dean for MSN education, director of the Fuld Palliative Care Fellowship Program, and the lead for student training of the Atlanta Regional Geriatric Education Center. She also serves as associate program director of the Atlanta VA Quality Scholars Advanced Fellowship Program. An expert in gerontology and healthy aging, Clevenger has been featured in The Atlanta Journal-Constitution and Atlanta Magazine.

Elizabeth Corwin PhD RN FAAN, associate dean for research, and Deborah Watkins Bruner PhD RN FAAN, Robert W. Woodruff Professor of Nursing, are among the 100 Inspiring Nursing Professors to Watch in 2014. The list is compiled by online LPNtoRN.org, a web resource on nursing education and careers.

Assistant professor Tami Thomas PhD RN CPNP is the newly elected president of the Southeast Regional Chapter of the Society of Adolescent Health and Medicine. Thomas also was named director of the new Doctor of Nursing Practice degree program at the School of Nursing.

Rebecca Wheeler 06N 12PhD is the current president of the Georgia Nurses Association (GNA). Wheeler serves on the School of Nursing faculty as a health policy instructor and advises new students on their clinical rotations with veterans. She also is coordinator of the Georgia Nursing Workforce Center, part of the Georgia Nursing Leadership Coalition. The coalition is led by the GNA and the Georgia Hospital Authority.

Email the editor